Go To Search

Yates Award
2013 Recipient
Ann HoeyThis year’s award is being given to Ann Hoey, Youth Services Librarian at the New Hampshire State Library. Ann has energetically worked with both public and school librarians to give them the support and tools needed to assist the children they serve. She has helped to bring kids and books together not only in Concord, but across the state. Please join us as we recognize Ann with this well-deserved award! 


The Elizabeth Yates Award honors Concord resident and children's author Elizabeth Yates, who was a strong advocate of reading and who supported library programs in the Concord community during her lifetime. Elizabeth Yates received the first award named in her honor in 1994. The Elizabeth Yates Award was begun in 1994 to honor an individual in the greater Concord area who is actively engaged in inspiring young people to read.

This award can be presented to authors, illustrators, storytellers, teachers, librarians, or others involved in encouraging reading. Submitted nominations are considered by the Elizabeth Yates Award Committee.

Past Recipients
Past recipients of the Elizabeth Yates Award include:
Recipient Year
Janet Ulbrich and Lily
Brenda Kern and Sparkle
Marty Kelley 2011
Jane Merrow 2010
Cris Sokol
Autumn VanSice
Jeffrey Kent 2008
Jayne Perron 2007
Rebecca Rule 2006
Philip Yeaton 2005
Nancy Keane 2004
Carol Berry 2003
Mary Lyn Ray 2002
Dina Abelson 2001
Nancy Pender 2000
Jennifer Ericsson 1999
Jane Owen 1998
Bill/Judy Egan 1997
Donna Ciocca 1996
Theresa Toy 1995
Elizabeth Yates 1994